The Editors’ Council said three ministers of the government, who pledged to heed journalists’ concerns over some portions of Digital Security Act, did not keep their commitment at the end.

Editors’ Council member Shyamal Dutta said it at a press briefing on the newly passed Digital Security Act in national press club on Saturday (October 13).

Shyamal Dutta said, “We are frustrated and shocked by the fact that Digital Security Act has been passed with provisions that are contrary to free press, freedom of speech and expression.”

The 8, 21, 25, 28, 29, 31, 32, 43 and 53 sections of the law will gravely hamper independent journalism and freedom of expression, he added.

The council also demanded for amendment of the above mentioned sections of Digital Security Act in last session of parliament scheduled on October 21.

Sixteen editors of different national dailies including Mahfuz Anam, The Daily Star editor and publisher and general secretary of the council, Prothom Alo editor Motiur Rahman, Bangladesh Pratidin editor Naem Nizam, Kaler Kantho editor Imdadul Haque Milon, Financial Express Editor Shahiduzzaman Khan, The Independent Editor Shamsur Rahman Momen, Manabzamin editor Motiur Rahman Chowdhury, Jugantor Secretary Saiful Alam, New Age Editor Nurul Kabir among others were present at the briefing.

Total views: 8154